Apache Beam 2.54.0

We are happy to present the new 2.54.0 release of Beam. This release includes both improvements and new functionality. See the download page for this release.

For more information on changes in 2.54.0, check out the detailed release notes.


  • Enrichment Transform along with GCP BigTable handler added to Python SDK (#30001).
  • Beam Java Batch pipelines run on Google Cloud Dataflow will default to the Portable Runner (v2) starting with this version. (All other languages are already on Runner V2.) See Runner V2 documentation for how to enable or disable it intentionally.


  • Added support for writing to BigQuery dynamic destinations with Python’s Storage Write API (#30045)
  • Adding support for Tuples DataType in ClickHouse (Java) (#29715).
  • Added support for handling bad records to FileIO, TextIO, AvroIO (#29670).
  • Added support for handling bad records to BigtableIO (#29885).

New Features / Improvements

Breaking Changes

  • N/A


  • N/A


  • Fixed a memory leak affecting some Go SDK since 2.46.0. (#28142)

Security Fixes

  • N/A

Known Issues

  • Some Python pipelines that run with 2.52.0-2.54.0 SDKs and use large materialized side inputs might be affected by a performance regression. To restore the prior behavior on these SDK versions, supply the --max_cache_memory_usage_mb=0 pipeline option. (#30360).
  • Python pipelines that run with 2.53.0-2.54.0 SDKs and perform file operations on GCS might be affected by excess HTTP requests. This could lead to a performance regression or a permission issue. (#28398)
  • In Python pipelines, when shutting down inactive bundle processors, shutdown logic can overaggressively hold the lock, blocking acceptance of new work. Symptoms of this issue include slowness or stuckness in long-running jobs. Fixed in 2.56.0 (#30679).

For the most up to date list of known issues, see https://github.com/apache/beam/blob/master/CHANGES.md

List of Contributors

According to git shortlog, the following people contributed to the 2.54.0 release. Thank you to all contributors!

Ahmed Abualsaud

Alexey Romanenko

Anand Inguva

Andrew Crites

Arun Pandian

Bruno Volpato


Chamikara Jayalath

Changyu Li

Cheskel Twersky

Claire McGinty



Danny McCormick


Edward Cheng

Ferran Fernández Garrido

Hai Joey Tran



Jack McCluskey

Jan Lukavský


Jeffrey Kinard

Jerry Wang


Joey Tran


Kenneth Knowles

Knut Olav Løite



Mark Zitnik

martin trieu

Mattie Fu

Naireen Hussain

Neeraj Bansal

Niel Markwick

Oleh Borysevych

pablo rodriguez defino

Rebecca Szper

Ritesh Ghorse

Robert Bradshaw

Robert Burke

Sam Whittle

Shunping Huang

Svetak Sundhar

S. Veyrié



Vlado Djerek

Yi Hu

Zechen Jian